Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is an advisory board composed of seven (7) voting members and one (1) alternate member appointed by the City Council to serve a three (3) year term. Any citizen located within the City of Superior’s one (1) mile extraterritorial jurisdiction is eligible to serve on the Planning Commission.

The Planning Commission has final agency authority on numerous land use applications as well as acting in an advisory capacity to the City Council on various other land use matters.


The focus of the Board is to develop, adopt and update the Comprehensive Plan and other policy documents for the Commission’s jurisdictional area. These policy and implementation documents address a range of community including, growth, development, and land use. The Planning Commission has final authority on all Conditional Use cases and forward recommendations to the City Council on all rezoning cases and regulation amendments.

Current Planning Commission Members are:

  • Kim Young – Chairperson
  • Carl Suchsland – Vice Chairperson
  • Frank Borden
  • Emily Kirchhoff
  • Jeremy Littrell
  • Brenda Corman
  • Jim Mitchell
  • Calvin Hayes (Alternate)
  • James Flores (Council Representative – nonvoting)


Meeting Date/Time:

Meetings are generally held the 1st Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m.



City/Utilities Office 135 West 4th Street Superior, NE 68978


Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available on Monday prior to all Planning Commission meetings.

If there are any questions, please contact the Planning and Zoning Office at 402-879-4713.